Surf School, Learn to Surf with Eli Howard, Surf Camps, Surfing Lessons Help Contact Us Email Inquiries for the Surf School Home Page
Surf Lessons Surfing School

Morning Surf Camp     

Surfing Instructors San Diego
Beachside Surf Camps
Eli Howard


Five full mornings of surf instruction

The Eli Howard Surf Camp is for boys and girls ages six and up who are ready to gain ocean confidence and enjoy the coolest beach adventure while really learning to surf! The camp is all-inclusive, providing five days of non-stop surfing and ocean awareness. Your child will have the opportunity to choose from a variety of brand new soft surfboards and full length wetsuits.

Enrolling your child in the camp will give them a safe non-competitive learning environment. All instructors are trained in CPR and First Aid to ensure safety. In addition, all head instructors are American Red Cross certified Lifeguards and EMTs! As always, we offer are our famous teaching ratios of 3:1, which put us on the map many years ago! With ratios this small, each student can work with an instructors at their ability, with beginners and younger surfers starting in the areas of water where they can stand up. Then as they progress, and once they're ready, they can move further out with the next instructor.

The camp covers a multitude of topics, everything from how to carry your surfboard down to the beach, tie a leash, build ocean confidence with bodysurfing sessions, to more advanced topics like surf etiquette and progressive surfing.

At the end of the week, your child will be able to catch waves on their own, having progressed each day, learning ocean safety and awareness. Our instructors instill self-confidence and have the patience to work with each child on a individual basis to meet their goals.

As with all Eli Howard lessons/camps the surfboard and wetsuit are provided so all students will need to bring is a swimsuit, towel, and sunblock. Daily refreshments are also provided mid session such as gatorade, hot chocolate if appropriate, trail mix, and fresh fruit. After a great week of surfing students may relax at the beach for a barbeque of burgers, hotdogs, and all the fixins.

Morning Surf Camps are held on City of Encinitas beaches, at Moonlight Beach as well as San Elijo State Beach. Afternoon Surf Camps are held at San Elijo State Beach.

If you cannot attend all five days of the camp, daily signups can be arranged at $85/day (space permitting). Call us for details.

The Morning Surf Camp requires a $100.00 non-refundable deposit two weeks prior to the start date of the camp and the remaining balance on the first day of camp. We accept checks or cash. (Please make checks payable to: Eli Howard Surf School).

See our camp packing list for details on what to bring.


  1. 1. Click the REGISTER button below for the surf camp you'd like, or
  2. Download a registration form - call to verify availability, then fill-in and send back to us, or
  3. Call us directly at 760.809.3069

Upcoming Morning Surf Camps (San Elijo):

Morning Surf Camp- San Elijo State Beach
Dates Times Location Cost Status

Upcoming Morning Surf Camps (Moonlight):

Morning Surf Camp- Moonlight Beach
Dates Times Location Cost Status

Monday, June 04, 2018 to Friday, June 08, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $375 Open
Monday, June 11, 2018 to Friday, June 15, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $395 Sold Out!
Monday, June 18, 2018 to Friday, June 22, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $395 Sold Out!
Monday, June 25, 2018 to Friday, June 29, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $395 Sold Out!
Monday, July 02, 2018 to Friday, July 06, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $300 Prorated-No Holiday Camp Day Sold Out!
Monday, July 09, 2018 to Friday, July 13, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, July 16, 2018 to Friday, July 20, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, July 23, 2018 to Friday, July 27, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, July 30, 2018 to Friday, August 03, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, August 06, 2018 to Friday, August 10, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, August 13, 2018 to Friday, August 17, 2018 8AM-1215PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!
Monday, August 20, 2018 to Friday, August 24, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $395 Sold Out!
Monday, August 27, 2018 to Friday, August 31, 2018 8AM-12PM Moonlight $375 Sold Out!

Upcoming Spring Break Surf Camp (San Elijo):

Spring Break Day Camp (San Elijo)
Dates Times Location Cost Status

Tuesday, March 27, 2018 to Thursday, March 29, 2018 9AM-1PM San Elijo $240 Open
Tuesday, April 03, 2018 to Thursday, April 05, 2018 12PM-4PM San Elijo $240 Sold Out!
Monday, April 09, 2018 to Tuesday, April 10, 2018 8AM-12PM San Elijo $160 2 Day camp! Sold Out!
Tuesday, April 10, 2018 to Thursday, April 12, 2018 2PM-6PM San Elijo $240 Sold Out!
Wednesday, April 11, 2018 to Friday, April 13, 2018 9AM-1PM San Elijo $240 Sold Out!
Tuesday, April 17, 2018 to Thursday, April 19, 2018 10AM-2PM San Elijo $240 Open

Visit us on Facebook   Review us on Trip Advisor   Review us on Yelp